Khavn: Manila Guerilla Filmmaker

At LUFF 2012, we discovered Khavn with the screening of “Mondomanila”. A genuine Manila punk film perspiring urgency and resourcefulness. The director often sticks his camera in the heart of Manila slums, in a Guerrilla mode — in other words, hastily, without any official agreement. For the need of documentaries, fiction films or visual experimentations along, Khavn catches the social violence of an alarming everyday life. With his partner and accomplice Achinette Villamor, this multidisciplinary artist (writer, composer, singer…) comes to present a few titles of his impressive filmography. In parallel, he will conduct the Guerilla Punk Film Workshop, whose result — a short film — will be screened as a preamble to the closing night ceremony, on Saturday 20.10.

Khavn also gives a workshop.
Khavn also presents the cinérama Popular Pinoy Pictures

Popular Pinoy Pictures

Through a simplifying lens, one could say that apart from a few sub-Mad Max coproduced by Roger Corman and two or three hybrid flicks starring Weng Weng, the popular cinema of the Philippines — as opposed to arthouse productions — is still little known in our lands. That’s why Khavn offered us a selection of newly restored popular films. From the bizarre drama to the wrecked family fantasy through the incongruous musical, this sample reveals a surprising diversity. In the end, a cinema screening with live music by Kontra-Kino Orchestra, gathering between others Khavn and Brezel Göring (Stereo Total), on the 1953 adaptation of the popular comic book Dyesebel.

Khavn also gives a workshop.
A cinérama is also dedicated to Khavn.

Michael Armstrong: the intangible

While the very respectable British film industry was sinking in an economic crisis at the end of the ‘60s, Michael Armstrong’s career took off in the exploitation cinema’s network of fringe productions. From realistic horror to nostalgic fantasy, through sexy comedy and crime chronicle, he has written, produced, shot and/or performed in many films considered as classics nowadays. This retrospective offers the opportunity to (re)discover film works that defied censorship, offended the ego of producers and gave cold sweat to institutions, in while still featuring future talents or popular stars.

Carte blanche: Extrême Cinéma

Have you ever heard about a Film institute hosting a seedy film festival? This Film institute is in Toulouse, and the festival is called Extrême Cinéma. This big brother of sleazy film festivals will celebrate its 20th edition in February 2019. Vigorously headed by the pitiless Frédéric Thibaut, whose alias Professor Thibaut should petrify some patients escaped from his laboratory. Extrême Cinéma has successfully propagated pretty pictures with a sincere love for the most deviant of them. The absolute proof being four scandalous treasures coming direct from a dungeon in southern France.

The Church of Satan and the 7th art

Too impatient to wait for its 666th edition, LUFF takes an interest this year in the surprising relationship between The Church of Satan founded by Anton LaVey and show business, Hollywood in particular. The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Jayne Mansfield, Kenneth Anger or Forrest J. Ackerman have gravitated around this entity; LaVey was hired as consultant for the shooting of “The Devil’s Rain” while banned from the set of “The Exorcist”. The marriage between the capital city of glamour and Satanist darkness entices you and fascinates you? Then let yourself be guided towards the light by the reverend Steven Johnson Leyba… It’s painless. Almost.

M. Woods and the Numb Spiral

Born in 1988, M.Woods has been chronicling for 13 years the propagation of “The Numb Spiral”, a digital sickness revealing itself through the codification and symbolic negation of the being. In its entirety, this work combines writing, web series, virtual realities, performance, photography, and cinema. With his films, constructed out of footage, both analogue and digital, collected via unnatural processes, his work is being qualified as delirious, satirical, political, transgressive, ludicrous… Upon the release of his first feature, “Dailies from Dumpland”, this proto-punk multimedia prophet has come to clear up the Evil at the heart of the media sphere.

Billy Roisz: Tricky Woman

Billy Roisz performs on stage because she fiddles with sounds. But she also deserves a welcome into darkened rooms as she fiddles with pictures. On which she fiddles again with sounds. As a main figure of Austrian experimental scene, her videos are as minimalist as conceptual. A tad perverse, she plays with visual and/or sound perception to lure the spectator to unexpected places. The result is fascinating, sometimes even petrifying... consider “THE”, a horrific and hair-raising film screened during the 2015 Berlinale and demonstrating a startling mastery of suggestion in the not so indulgent milieu of experimental cinema.

Billy Roisz also gives a performance on Wednesday 17.10 at Salle des Fêtes.

Ultra Rêve

Three short films, out of the ordinary, brought together under a bewitching and enticing title. They are “After School Knife Fight” by the duo Poggi/Viner, “The Islands” by Gonzales, and “Ultra Pulp” by Mandico. Three atmospheres, three sensitivities, going through three forms of expression (music, theatre and cinema) and which, put end-to-end, create an alternative pathway towards borrowed worlds of romance first, then obsession, and in the end, possession. Worlds of soft naivety, of nightmarish creatures and of pop fantasy, reminding us of the mysterious and velvety snatches of our dreams that stick to the spirit when one leaves them.

Opening Film (Wed 17.10)

Closing Film (Sat 20.10)


Compétition


Cinérama

Ultra Rêve


Age légal 16 ans

Age suggéré 16 ans,sauf indication contraire


Feature Films Jury

Patricia MacCormack
Professor and essayist, London, United Kingdom

Patricia MacCormack is Professor of Continental Philosophy and author of “Cinesexuality” (Routledge 2008) and “Deleuze and the Schizoanalysis of Cinema” (Continuum 2008) as well as many academic articles on horror film, queer film and transgressive cinema. She has appeared interviewed on DVD titles such as “Maitresse”, “Daughter of Darkness”, “Requiem for the Vampire”, “The Gorgon”, “Sick”, “The Art of Nasty” and “Lips of Blood”.

Cyril Despontin
Dictator of two festivals, Paris, France

General Delegate and founder of PIFFF (in partnership with the magazine Mad Movies) and of the festival Hallucinations Collectives. Co-organizer of Nuit Nanarland (B-Movies night) at Grand REX, he also works at the companies Wild Side and Wild Bunch Distribution.

Philippe Congiusti
Producer , radio host, film critic at RTS, Lausanne, Switzerland

He makes his debut on the radio in 1998 on ClipFm, continues on Nostalgie Bourgogne before being discovered by Couleur3 in 1999 and invited to host programs of a general nature as well as a cinema magazine Secteur 7. Since creating the program Brazil in 2003 Philippe Congiusti has also been collaborating at Culture Au Point on Espace2, at La Puce à l’Oreille on RTS as well as at Rdv ciné of the TV journal Le 12:45.

Short Films Jury

Joyce A. Nashawati
Film director, Paris, France

Born in Beirut Joyce A. Nashawati grew up between Athens, Accra and Kuwait city. After her cinema studies in Great Britain she settled in Paris. She directed three shorts before filming her first feature “Blind Sun”, a Greek film released in 2016, selected, among others to Toronto, Sitges, Neuchâtel. Currently she is developing two fantastic feature projects, in France and Japan.

Célia Pouzet
Curator, film programmer and distributor, Brussels, Belgium

Cursed at birth by her Hitchcock-obsessed matriarch, Celia Pouzet grew up to be an omnivorous cinephagous. She embarked on her path as a curator for Cinématheque française 8 years ago and now her expertise ranges from programming international festivals such as Fantasia and Courts Mais Trash and distributing restored classics to consulting for self-produced oddities. Celia is now launching Iniodymus, her own consultancy agency, aiming to mentor fresh blood in their journey within the festival circuit.

Lilo Wullschleger
Ethnologist, film director, Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Ethnologist, coordinator of Kid-O-Nifff, making-of-er and production assistant, Lilo Wullschleger develops and hosts audiovisual workshops, for kids and adults. Genre film enthusiast, she is currently heading/directing/filming the documentary project “Bloody Heidi”, an inquiry into the content — and modes of production — of fantastic and horrific cinema made in Switzerland.

Host an artist!
Join the volunteers!
Join the workshops!

Khavn: Manila Guerilla Filmmaker

Au LUFF 2012, nous découvrions Khavn via la projection de « Mondomanila ». Un film produit dans un pur esprit punk qui transpirait l’urgence et le système D. Sa caméra, il la plante souvent au cœur des bidonvilles de Manille, en mode guérilla  — autrement dit à la sauvage, sans autorisation. Que ce soit pour les besoins de documentaires, d’œuvres de fiction ou d’expérimentations visuelles, Khavn saisit la brutalité sociale d’un quotidien alarmant. Avec sa compagne et complice Achinette Villamor, cet artiste pluridisciplinaire (il écrit, compose, chante, etc.) vient présenter quelques titres de son imposante filmographie. En parallèle, il dirige le workshop Guerilla Punk Film Workshop dont le résultat — un court métrage — sera projeté en préambule du film de clôture, le samedi 20.10.

Khavn donne également un workshop.
Khavn présente également le cinérama Popular Pinoy Pictures.

Popular Pinoy Pictures

En schématisant un peu, on peut dire qu’outre quelques sous « Mad Max » coproduits par Roger Corman et deux ou trois OFNI avec Weng Weng, le cinéma populaire philippin — au contraire de son cinéma d’auteur — reste méconnu dans nos contrées. Raison pour laquelle Khavn nous a proposé une sélection de films populaires récemment restaurés. Du drame sentimental bizarre au fantastique familial déglingué en passant par la comédie musicale incongrue, l’échantillon témoigne d’une surprenante variété. Avec au final, un ciné-concert du groupe Kontra-Kino Orchestra, qui réunit entre autre Khavn et Brezel Göring (Stereo Total), sur la rarissime adaptation de 1953 de la bande dessinée populaire Dyesebel.

Khavn donne également un workshop.
Un cinérama est également consacré à Khavn.

Michael Armstrong: l'insaisissable

Alors que la très respectable industrie cinématographique britannique s’enfonce dans une crise économique à la fin des années soixante, la carrière de Michael Armstrong prend son envol dans le circuit des productions parallèles du cinéma d’exploitation. De l’horreur réaliste au fantastique nostalgique, en passant par la comédie sexy et la chronique criminelle, il a écrit, produit, réalisé, et/ou interprété de nombreux films aujourd’hui considérés comme des classiques. Cette rétrospective est l’occasion de (re)découvrir des œuvres qui ont défié la censure, froissé l’égo de producteurs et donné des sueurs froides aux institutions, tout en impliquant des talents en devenir ou des vedettes populaires.

Carte blanche à Extrême Cinéma

Une cinémathèque qui accueille un festival de films pas toujours très nets, ça vous dit quelque chose ? La Cinémathèque, c’est celle de Toulouse et le festival, c’est Extrême Cinéma. Un grand frère qui célèbrera sa vingtième édition en février 2019. Dirigé d’une poigne dictatrice par l’impitoyable Frédéric Thibaut, dont le nom de plume — Professeur Thibaut — fera sans doute frissonner quelques patients échappés de son laboratoire, Extrême Cinéma a su propager les belles images avec un amour sincère pour les plus déviantes. La preuve par quatre avec ces quelques pépites sulfureuses en provenance direct d’un donjon toulousain.

L’Eglise de Satan et le 7e art

Trop impatient pour attendre sa 666e édition, le LUFF se penche cette année sur l’étonnante relation qu’entretenaient l’Eglise de Satan et son fondateur Anton LaVey avec le show-business et Hollywood en particulier. Autour de cette entité ont gravité les Rolling Stones, les Beatles, Jayne Mansfield, Kenneth Anger ou encore Forrest J. Ackerman; LaVey fut engagé comme consultant sur le tournage de « La Pluie du Diable », tandis que l’accès au plateau de « L’Exorciste » lui était interdit. Le mariage entre la capitale du glamour et la noirceur sataniste vous interpelle et vous fascine? Laissez-vous guider vers la lumière par le révérend Steven Johnson Leyba… C’est indolore. Ou presque.

M. Woods et la spirale engourdie

Né en 1988, M. Woods chronique depuis 13 ans la propagation de ce qu’il appelle « la spirale engourdie », à savoir le résultat d’une maladie numérique qui se manifeste par la codification et la négation symbolique de l’être. Dans sa globalité, ce travail combine écriture, web-séries, réalité virtuelle, performance, photographie et cinéma. Avec ses films à base d’images analogiques et numériques, réunies via des techniques contre-nature, son travail est qualifié de délirant, satirique, politique, transgressif, grotesque, etc. C’est à l’occasion de la sortie de son premier long métrage, « Dailies from Dumpland », que ce prophète multimédia proto-punk vient faire la lumière sur ce Mal au cœur de la représentation médiatisée.

Billy Roisz: Tricky Woman

Si Billy Roisz se produit sur scène parce qu’elle triture du son, elle mérite aussi l’accueil des salles obscures parce qu’elle triture des images, sur lesquelles elle triture du son. Figure majeure de l’expérimental autrichien contemporain, ses vidéos sont aussi minimalistes que conceptuelles. Un brin perverse, elle joue sur la perception visuelle et/ou sonore afin d’entraîner le spectateur là où il ne s’y attend pas. Le résultat est fascinant, parfois même tétanisant ; voir son film «THE» qualifié d’horrifique et qui dressa le poil du public de la Berlinale 2015 grâce à une saisissante maîtrise de la suggestion dans un cadre — le cinéma expérimental — qui ne s’y prête guère.

Billy Roisz donne également une performance le mercredi 17.10 à la Salle des Fêtes.

Ultra Rêve

Trois courts métrages hors du commun regroupés sous un titre envoûtant et aguicheur. Ils sont « After School Knife Fight » du duo Poggi/Vinel, « Les Îles » de Gonzalez, et « Ultra Pulpe » de Mandico. Trois ambiances, trois univers, trois sensibilités, qui traversent trois formes d’expression différentes (musique, théâtre et cinéma) et qui mis bout à bout forment une voie alternative vers des mondes emprunts de romance d’abord, puis d’obsession et enfin de possession. Des mondes dont la douceur naïve, les créatures de cauchemar et la fantasmagorie pop rappellent les bribes mystérieuses et veloutées de nos songes restant attachées à l’esprit au moment de les quitter.

Film d'ouverture

Film de clôture


Compétition


Cinérama

Ultra Rêve


Age légal 16 ans

Age suggéré 16 ans,sauf indication contraire


Jury Longs métrages

Patricia MacCormack
Professeure et essayiste, Londres, Royaume Uni

Patricia MacCormack est proffesseure de Philosophie Continentale et auteure de la « Cinésexualité » (Routledge 2008) et « Deleuze et la Schizoanalyse de Cinéma » (Continuum 2008) ainsi que beaucoup d’articles académiques sur le film d’horreur, le film queer et le cinéma transgressif. Elle est apparue interviewée sur les DVDs des titres tels que « Maîtresse », « La Fille des Ténèbres », « Requiem pour un Vampire », « La Gorgone », « Sick », « The Art of Nasty » et « Lips of Blood ».

Cyril Despontin
Dictateur de deux festivals, Paris, France

Délégué général et fondateur du PIFFF (en partenariat avec le magazine Mad Movies) et du festival Hallucinations Collectives. Co-organisateur de la Nuit Nanarland au Grand REX, il travaille aussi chez les sociétés Wild Side et Wild Bunch Distribution.

Philippe Congiusti
Producteur Animateur Critique de films à la RTS, Lausanne, Suisse

Il débute en radio en 1988 sur ClipFm, poursuit sur Nostalgie Bourgogne avant d’être repéré par Couleur3 en 1999 pour animer des émissions généralistes ainsi que le mag ciné Secteur 7. Créateur en 2003 de l’émission Brazil, Philippe Congiusti collabore aussi à Culture Au Point sur Espace2, à La Puce à l’Oreille sur RTS Un, et au Rdv ciné du journal TV Le 12:45.

Jury Courts métrages

Joyce A. Nashawati
Réalisatrice, Paris, France

Née à Beyrouth, Joyce A. Nashawati a grandi entre Athènes, Accra et Kuwait city. Après des études de cinéma en Grande-Bretagne, elle s’installe à Paris. Elle réalise trois court- métrages, avant de tourner son premier long « Blind Sun », film grec sorti en 2016, sélectionné, entre autres, à Toronto, Sitges, Neuchâtel. Elle développe actuellement deux projets de longs fantastiques, en France et au Japon.

Célia Pouzet
Curatrice, programmatrice et distributrice, Bruxelles, Belgique

Maudite dès la naissance par les obsessions hitchcock­iennes de sa matriarche, Célia Pouzet est devenue une omnivore cinéphage. Elle s’est embarquée sur son chemin de curatrice pour la Cinémathèque Française il y a 8 ans et aujourd’hui son expertise s’étend de la programmation cinéma pour les festivals internationaux tels que Fantasia et Court Mais Trash et distribution des classiques restaurés à l’expertise-conseil pour les curiosités autoproduites. Célia est actuellement en train de lancer Iniodymus, son agence de l’expertise-conseil, avec le but de guider le sang neuf sur leur voies dans les circuits festivaliers.

Lilo Wullschleger
Ethnologue, réalisatrice, Neuchâtel, Suisse

Ethnologue, coordinatrice du Kid-O-Nifff, making-ofeuse, assistante de production et enseignante de vidéo, Lilo Wullschleger développe et anime des ateliers audiovisuels, pour les petits et les grands. Passionnée de films de genre, elle réalise actuellement le projet documentaire « Bloody Heidi », un enquête sur les contenus et les modes de production du cinéma fantastique et horrifique made in Switzerland.

Hébergez des artistes!
Devenez bénévoles!
Inscrivez-vous aux workshops!